You Are a Bad*ss {Book Review}

 

“You Are a Badass” is the first New Age book I’ve read that acknowledges that New Age concepts are flat out wonky-sounding.

If you’ve seen/read “The Secret,” or books similar to it, you know what I mean. New Age books promise you wealth and prosperity by using your mind to move the energy all around us. This is the “Law of Attraction,” which basically states like attracts like, and is all over the pages of self-help books.

When I first saw “The Secret,” I immediately felt hyped up…until I really thought about what I had learned. “I’m going to use the power of my mind to send out waves, so that The Universe can grant me my every wish and desire.” But as much as I wanted to dismiss the Law of Attraction as hype to sell products, I started to see it everywhere in my life. I heard several successful people talk about what lead them to success, saying time and time again about how they didn’t know how they were going to do it, just they knew it could be done. That sounded like the Law of Attraction in simple, everyday terms.

Yet, years went by, and I didn’t follow the advice. Many books were read, and I still didn’t follow the advice. Why? With the other New Age books I’ve read, I always had a nagging feeling in the back of my mind telling me this was all garbage and one day I’d wake up realizing I’d wasted my life wishing for things to happen, spending thousands of dollars to make those things happen…only for them to not happen. I don’t want to be taken as a fool.

Which is why I love love love “You Are a Badass.” It was the first New Age book I read that acknowledges how goofy it all sounds. When talking about affirmations, the first thing Jen Sincero said was “I wouldn’t do this to you unless I had to, but affirmations work. You don’t have to say them in the mirror, you don’t have to hug yourself or buy a special rainbow journal with a lock on it to write them down, but if you want to turn the ship around, you need to rewire your brain and train it to think differently.”

Finally, someone said it!

On top of that, “You Are a Badass” has every single New Age concept you could ever hope for (affirmations, visualization, self-talk, abundance of The Universe) crammed in with loads of practical advice (letting go of resentment, building self-confidence, how to find your calling). It is a one stop shop for self-help advice.

My only complaint about the book is that the foul language prevents me from playing it on repeat when I drive my toddler to the playground or on errands.

If you’ve read self-help books that others have raved about, but you were sure the woo woo was made up junk, this book is for you. If you’ve never read a self-help book and want the most rational sounding one, this book is for you.

Here are my takeaways:

  • You are the only you there is and ever will be.
  • Most answers reveal themselves through doing, not thinking.
  • Forgiving isn’t about being nice to them, it’s about being nice to yourself.
  • Procrastination is one of the most popular forms of self-sabotage because it’s really easy.
  • You absolutely cannot grow a business, get promoted or be a cool parent, and you absolutely will go gray before your time, if you try and do every single thing by yourself.
  • On the other side of your fear is your freedom.
  • So often, we pretend we’ve made a decision, when what we’ve really done is signed up to try until it gets too uncomfortable.
  • The only failure is quitting. Everything else is just gathering information.
  • Discipline is a muscle.

You and I may or may not have the same challenges. We could read the same book and learn different things. I highly encourage you to read the book for yourself to understand the words of advice in their context and to learn what is most pertinent to you. If you do, please share what you learned so we can learn from each other.

Note: I listened to the audiobook four times over the course of several months. This book has so much substance to it that I wanted to fully understand the concepts in the book before presenting a review. After several months of procrastination, I finally sat down with the audio book and ebook and read them both in conjunction. (Side note: I love this way of reading so much, I may do this again in the future.) I checked both the audiobook and ebook out of my local library’s online collection.

Leave a Reply

