Rad Women Worldwide {Book Review}

 

 

“Rad Women Worldwide” by Kate Schatz, illustrations by Miriam Klein Stahl, took me on a journey throughout the world and throughout time, through vastly different experiences from my own. Quick blurbs (1-2 pages each) introduced me to these extraordinary women, some of whom I had never heard of, but who I will now never forget.

The illustrations are stark black and white. The illustrator, Miriam, armed with paper and an X-Acto knife, cut the images out, line by line, bit by bit. They are beautiful, amazing and give the book a unique style.

The strength and courage of the women profiled is absolutely tremendous. There are 40 different stories. Here are a few of my favorites:
  • Junko Tabei, a housewife and mountain climber, who was buried in an avalanche, pulled out, and summited Mt. Everest to become the first woman ever to reach it.
  • Wangari Maathai founded the Green Belt Movement, which has planted more than 30 million trees in Kenya to combat forest destruction due to cash crops. She was the first African woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize.
  • Josephine Baker, a silly yet beautiful dancer who became a spy during World War II, eavesdropping on high-ranking Japanese, Italian and Nazi officials who never suspected her as an informant. She was the first black woman to star in a major motion picture, and she was a civil rights activist, speaking alongside Martin Luther King, Jr. at the March on Washington.
Reading about these women, some of whom were killed for their cause, made me realize what an incredible opportunity it is to be a woman in this day and age. Because of their sacrifices, I attended school, started a career, was able to choose my profession, am able to speak my mind, am able to marry who I love…the list goes on and on. In short:

Opportunity is built on the backs of sacrifice.

This realization made me incredibly grateful and speechless.

_______________________
Thank you to the publisher for sending me this book, which I requested through bloggingforbooks.com. It came at a time when I was feeling really down on myself and thinking that I’m “just” a stay at home mom. At the time, it seems like the men around me were excelling at amazing things, but the women were only talking about makeup and baby products (consumerism, not creation). This book inspired me to speak up, be bold, and seek out ways to change the world. We don’t all use the same avenue to do this.

Have you read this book or one similar to it? Please share your thoughts and comments! I’d love to start a conversation with you.

**Disclaimer: The book was given to me for free at my request. I was not paid to say anything and as always, my thoughts and opinions are my own. I only pick books that would be worth my time to read.

Leave a Reply

